Slow Torment

I held my throat
against the blade
of your razor love
and pressed as hard
as I dared before
withdrawing to save
myself. But glistening
strands of love connected
us despite; woven
through cells so tightly
glued as to be impossible
to extract, so guilt
sliced through the thin
courage and drew
me back again
and again to tread
the path of advance
and retreat.

F. Kate Langan 2023

Published by F. Kate Langan

I love words; long ones, short ones, antiquated and new ones. Herein I string some together to make statements on the condition of life while caning chairs. Enjoy.

Leave a comment

Woodside Workshop

Chair caning, rush, & wickerwork

F. Kate Langan, Author

Poetry, Novels, Non-Fiction, and Commentary

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.